College Cooking 101: The Avomelet

I’ve learned a lot about cooking while being in college. Because I’m on a limited budget, I make sure that:

A. I buy raw fruits, vegetables, and grains because it’s cheaper that way and I learn how to cut, cook, and prepare it. The lessons don’t end in the classroom folks. Plus, buying foods that are pre-made like dinners in the frozen food isle are often high in salt and have preservatives.

B. I have a supply of raw fruits and veggies to make meals more versatile.  I can adjust recipes based on the foods I currently have. Sometimes it’s hard to always have the exact same ingredients all the time.

C: When I cook, I try to keep the fruits and veggies in their original state if possible. I’ve read in many publications that eating fruits and veggies raw helps preserve all the good-for-you stuff.

Using some of the ingredients I bought from the farmers market last week, I’ve created my favorite breakfast concoction, The Avomelet. Now, I’m no cook. But I do try and make meals that will satisfy me, that’s nutritious, that gets me the most bang for my buck, is easy and fast to make, and is interchangeable so that each recipe will work no matter what ingredients I might have in the fridge that day.

The Avomelet

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 10 minutes

2 eggs
1/2 avocado
1/3 tomato
1/5 onion
palm full of cheese
salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, onion powder to taste.

You’ll notice I have interesting ways of measuring things. Since I have your average college student kitchen, I literally only have the basics: forks, spoons, knives (you get the picture). So, I measure everything by eye. But, have fun with this recipe. I did. You can interchange the tomato and onion with whatever you want. Mushrooms? Green onion? Pineapple? Some folks might not like the raw onion in the omelet because of its strong taste. I just had an onion in the fridge and wanted to use it. And the seasonings? Swap out red pepper flakes and onion powder with your favorite if you like.

1. Scramble your eggs with salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and onion powder. Set aside.

2. Chop the onions and tomatoes, set aside.


3. Slice the avocado in half. Wrap up the unused half and refrigerate.

4. Peel the avocado half and slice vertically, set aside.


5. Pre-heat a non-stick pan with canola oil. Pour the scrambled eggs.

6. Don’t mix it, let it cook like a pancake. Let it cook long enough for the top half to begin to cook, too.

7. Add the onions, tomatoes, and cheese.


8. Fold it in half and let it cook for a few minutes more.


9. Remove it from the pan and place on plate. Add avocado on top. Enjoy.

Turkey bacon anyone?

Any cool egg recipes to share, please comment below!

 

 

12 thoughts on “College Cooking 101: The Avomelet

  1. Avocado is one of my favorite foods! I also love eggs but don’t cook them very often. You are already on the right track with your eating. I moved away from home where I knew no one in college too. It was one of the best things I ever did. I lived in the dorms at first, then an efficiency apt. It’s so easy to fall into ruts when you live alone with a small kitchen. I love your blog name and all your pictures. You are so cute! I’ll be back to see what you’re up to! :-)

  2. I’d eat that avomelet! For some reason it seems quite Japanese to me. I guess it’s because I love quartered avocado nigiri sushi and also tomago nigiri. Put some rice under plate and sprinkle with nori and soy sauce and you’ve got yourself a deconstructed Japanese meal :)

Leave a Reply

